Kathoden mit Graphen-Nanoröhren: Höhere Entladeleistung, Hohe Energiedichte, Sehr gute Haftung, Sicherheit


Leistungsanforderungen auf dem wettbewerbsintensiven Li-Ionen-Markt

Die anspruchsvollen Ziele zur Erreichung einer hohen Energiedichte, schnelleres Aufladen, hohe Leistung, längere Lebensdauer und die von der wachsenden E-Auto-Industrie gestellten Anforderungen an Sicherheit zwingen die Hersteller von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien die besten Werkstoffen für Akkuzellen zu wählen. Nur mit diesen Ansatz ist die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit auf diesem stets wachsenden Markt in den Griff zu bekommen. Die Leistung ist maßgebend.

TUBALL Graphen-Nanoröhren

TUBALL Graphen Nanoröhren (oder einwandige Kohlenstoffnanoröhre) sind das beste elektrisch leitfähige und feste Material für den Einsatz in Formulierung der Lithium-Ionen-Batterien. Diese und andere einzigartige Eigenschaften von Nanoröhren, wie ihr hohes Verhältnis von Länge zu Durchmesser, ihre Flexibilität und ihre Fähigkeit, dreidimensionale leitende und verstärkende Netzwerke im Inneren aktiver Materialien zu schaffen, ermöglichen TUBALL™ Nanoröhren, die Leistung von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien selbst bei niedrigsten Dosierungen zu steigern.

Wirkungsweise

Das REM-Bild zeigt, dass sogar 0,08% von TUBALL™ Graphen-Nanoröhren im aktiven Material NCM 811 die Oberfläche des aktiven Materials vollständig bedecken und die Partikel miteinander verbinden.

Leistungsvorteile

Dank ihrer einzigartigen Eigenschaften übertreffen Graphen-Nanoröhren die Konkurrenz und bieten erhebliche Verbesserungen der Leistung von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien in Bezug auf Entladekapazität, Energiedichte, Haftung und Sicherheit. Herkömmliche leitfähige Additive für Kathoden – Ruß und merhwandige Kohlenstoffnanoröhren – sind nicht in der Lage solche Eigenschaften zu bieten.


Höhere Entladeleistung

Dank der hohen elektrischen Leitfähigkeit der Graphen-Nanoröhren gegenüber anderen Zusatzstoffen lässt die Verwendung von TUBALL™ in der Kathode zwei wichtige Eigenschaften gleichzeitig verbessern und eine schnelle Entladung und hohe Batteriekapazität erreicht werden.


Hohe Energiedichte

Weniger als 0,1% TUBALL™ sorgt für eine höhere Energiedichte. Diese ist um das 10-fache bis 60-fache geringer als die typische effektive Konzentration der mehrwandigen Kohlenstoffnanoröhren bzw. Ruß als leitfähigen Zusatzstoff. Nur 100 g von TUBALL Nanoröhre können 5 kg elektrisch leitfähigen Ruß in modernen Batterien der E-Autos ersetzen

Sehr gute Haftung

Die Nanoröhren-Netzwerke halten die Partikeln des Kathodenwerkstoffes zusammen und erhöhen die Haftung zwischen ihnen.

Sicherheit

TUBALL Graphen-Nanoröhren sind das leitfähigste Material, das in der Formulierung der Lithium-Ionen-Batterien verwendet werden kann. Sie reduzieren den Innenwiderstand (DCR) selbst bei extrem niedrigen Konzentrationen. Stabile TUBALL Netzwerke bleiben im Inneren des kathodischen Materials selbst nach mehreren Auflade-/Entladezyklen und Lagerung der Batterie erhalten, so dass die DCRs nach Lagerung und Zyklen bei hohen Temperaturen niedrig gehalten werden können.

Je niedriger die DCR der Batterie ist, desto niedriger ist die Heiztemperatur und damit auch die Gefahr eines Batteriebrandes. TUBALL™ Graphen-Nanoröhren bieten einen großen Sicherheitsvorteil.


Leistung der Kathoden mit TUBALL Nanoröhren

Um die Verwendung der Graphen-Nanoröhren in den kathodischen Werkstoffen auf Basis von LCO, LFP, NCM und anderen aktiven Materialien zu vereinfachen, hat OCSiAl ein einsatzbereites Produkt TUBALL™ BATT entwickelt, welches gut dispergierten Nanoröhren in unterschiedlichen flüssigen Trügermaterialien 

Die TUBALL BATT Dispersionen erlauben es die Nanoröhren ohne zusätzliche Ausrüstung mit dem bestehenden Fertigungsprozess der Elektrodenformulierung hinzuzufügren.

Vorteile von TUBALL™ BATT für Kathoden:

  • Sorgt für eine hohe Energiedichte aufgrund des maximalen aktiven Materialgehalts
  • Erhöht die Sicherheit: durch niedrigen Batteriewiderstand und folglich – deren Temperatursenkung 
  • Höhere Leistung bei hoher Entladegeschwindigkeit 
  • Verbesserte Haftung der Elektrode.  

TUBALL™ löst beim Einsatz in der Anode das Hauptproblem der Silizium-Anoden – die niedrige Lebensdauer.

Weitere Informationen über TUBALL™ BATT für Kathoden finden Sie auf der Produktkarte unten oder kontaktieren Sie uns.


Verwandte Produkte

BATT NMP
Tuball
BATT NMP
Flüssig-Dispersion einwandiger Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhren in NMP mit Zusatz von Dispergiermittel. Verwendung als leitfähiges Additiv für Lithium-Ionen-Batterien

Anwendungsbereiche

Energy Storage

Werkstoffe

Kathoden

Träger

Lösungsmittel/ Bindemittel

BATT NMP

Related videos

Wie funktionieren die Nanoröhren innerhalb einer Elektrode? (eng)

Batterien auf SWCNT-Basis: Gegenwart und Zukunft (Andrey Senyjt, OCSiAl Energy) (eng)


Kontaktieren Sie uns bitte, um die technischen Bedingungen Ihres Projektes zu besprechen oder Muster von TUBALL MATRIX zu erhalten

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Cathodes with graphene nanotubes: superior discharge rates, energy density, cycle life and safety


Demand for performance in the competitive Li-ion market

The ambitious energy density targets, faster charging, higher power, longer service life and safety requirements from the emerging giant EV industry require Li-ion battery manufacturers to select the best materials for the battery cells they produce. Only by doing that will it be possible for them to survive the competition and “stay in the game”. Performance is critical.

TUBALL™ graphene nanotubes

TUBALL™ graphene nanotubes (also known as single wall carbon nanotubes) are the most electrically conductive and strong material that can be used in the recipe of Li-ion batteries. This fact, together with their other unique properties such as high length-to-diameter ratio, flexibility and ability to create well-developed conductive and reinforcing networks inside active materials, allows TUBALL™ nanotubes to boost Li-ion batteries’ performance even at ultra-low working dosages.

Working principle

This SEM image clearly shows that just 0.08% of TUBALL™ graphene nanotubes in NCM 811 active material fully covers the active material surface and connects the particles together.

Performance benefits

Thanks to their unique intrinsic properties, graphene nanotubes outperform competitors and offer substantial Li-ion battery performance improvements in terms of discharge power, energy density and adhesion, as well as safety. Such performance improvements for Li-ion battery cathodes cannot be demonstrated by any traditional conductive additives, such as carbon black or multi wall carbon nanotubes.

Higher discharge power

Thanks to graphene nanotubes’ unmatched conductivity compared with other conductive additives, using TUBALL™ in cathodes makes it is possible to achieve fast discharge while also increasing the battery’s capacity.

Higher energy density

Less than 0.1% of TUBALL™ provides higher energy density. This concentration is lower by 10–60 times than that needed when using multi wall carbon nanotubes or carbon black as a conductive additive. In a modern EV battery pack, 5 kg of conductive carbon black can be replaced by just 100 g of TUBALL™.

Higher cathode adhesion

Nanotube networks hold the cathode material particles together, increasing the bond strength between them.

Safety

Being the most conductive material that can be used in the recipe of Li-ion batteries, even a small amount of TUBALL™ graphene nanotubes is enough to reduce internal battery cell resistance (DCR). Stable TUBALL™ networks are maintained inside the cathode material even after multiple battery charge–discharge cycles and battery storage periods, enabling the DCR to be maintained at a low level as well – after HT storage and cycling.

The lower battery DCR results in lower temperature build-up, and thus a reduced risk of a battery fire. This is a crucial safety benefit, made possible by TUBALL™ graphene nanotubes.

Performance e-nabled by TUBALL™ graphene nanotubes

To facilitate the application of graphene nanotubes in LCO, LFP, NCM-based and other types of cathodes, OCSiAl has developed the ready-to-use product TUBALL™ BATT that contains well-dispersed nanotubes in various liquid carriers and that can be simply mixed in during standard manufacturing processes.

TUBALL™ BATT features for cathodes:

  • Maximized energy density by enabling a higher possible content of active material
  • Improved safety – lower battery resistance and thus lower temperature
  • More power at high discharge rates
  • Better electrode adhesion

For anodes, TUBALL™ solves the main problem of silicon anodes – poor cycle life.

For all the details on TUBALL™ BATT for cathodes, click the product card below or contact us.


Related products

BATT NMP
Tuball
BATT NMP
Liquid dispersion of single wall carbon nanotubes in NMP with the addition of dispersing agent. Used as a conductive additive for lithium-ion batteries

Application

Energy Storage

Materials

Cathodes

Carrier Media

NMP, PVDF, others

BATT NMP

Related videos

Nanotubes inside electrode

Batteries e-nabled by SWCNTs: present and future (Andrey Senyut, OCSiAl Energy)


Contact us to discuss your project specifications or to request a sample

CONTACT US

Scientific validation

  • Anode & Cathode

    High areal capacity battery electrodes enabled by segregated nanotube networks

    High thickness and specific capacity leads to areal capacities of up to 45 and 30 mAh cm−2 for anodes and cathodes, respectively. Combining optimized composite anodes and cathodes yields full cells with state-of-the-art areal capacities (29 mAh cm−2) and specific/volumetric energies (480 Wh kg−1 and 1,600 Wh l−1).


    Published:
  • Cathode

    Rational design of a high-energy LiNi0.8Co0.15Al0.05O2 cathode for Li-ion batteries

    Replacing Denka black with SWCNT allows to reduce the carbon content to 0.2 wt% to further increase the energy density, and 2 wt% of PVDF was shown to benefit the cycling stability due to the mitigated PVDF-induced side reactions from its direct contact with NCA particles.


    Published:
  • Cathode

    Quantifying the effect of electrical conductivity on the rate-performance of nanocomposite battery electrodes

    100 μm thick electrodes with mass loadings 2 of ∼15 mg/cm2 were produced. While carbon black or graphene loadings of >10 wt % are required to reach OOP conductivities of 1 S/ m, this level can be achieved with ∼1 wt % of carbon nanotubes.


    Published:
  • Anode & Cathode

    Constructing a Highly Efficient Aligned Conductive Network to Facilitate Depolarized High-Areal-Capacity Electrodes in Li-Ion Batteries

    With minimum inactive components (i.e., binder and conductive agents), the proposed electrode structure delivers good cycling stability and rate capability under high areal loading (as high as 200 mg cm−2).


    Published: